The Western Cape Birding Forum

We are a forum representing birding interests in the Western Cape. The Western Cape Birding Forum represents 17 clubs, with more than 2,000 members in the Western Cape.

CHAIR: Anton Odendaal  birding@overberg.co.za  082 550 3347

SECRETARY: Carin Malan  carin.malan@fruitways.co.za  073 172 2660

BirdLife South Africa, Regional Representative: Mark Brown mark@naturesvalleytrust.co.za  044 531 6820

Western Cape Birding Forum Logo

Regional Contacts Directory

Club and Office heldNameEmailCellTel.
BirdLife Overberg
ChairElaine Odendalmwjasser@mweb.co.za082 455 8402028 316 1105
SecretaryHele Oosthuizenbirding@southernartceramics.com073 456 0393
TreasurerVivie Lombardvivie@global.co.za072 487 3386
WC Birding Website &
Birding Routes
Anton Odendalbirding@overberg.co.za082 550 3347
BirdLife Plettenberg Bay
ChairMike Bridgefordmikebridgeford@telkomsa.net083 266 7634044 535 9434
SecretaryPhilip Murtonpmurton@mweb.co.za072 340 6238044 533 5494
TreasurerGavin Wardgavcar@mweb.co.za044 533 6984
BirdLife Worcester
ChairKobus Graaffjgraaf@mweb.co.za082 552 9505023 347 1475
SecretaryHester Graaffhegraaff@mweb.co.za023 347 1475
TreasurerAnton Quenetanton@quenets.co.za023 347 0844
Cape Bird Club
ChairPriscilla Beetonpbeeton@mweb.co.za 084 603 9987
Vice-ChairJohan Schlebuschjohan.g.schlebusch@gmail.com021 685 7418
SecretaryBarbara Jonesbemjones@telkomsa.net021 705 9948
TreasurerJoy Fishjoyfishza@iafrica.com021 685 7418
ConservationDave Whitelawdavesue@mweb.co.za082 646 1024021 671 3714
Hermanus Bird Club
ChairCraig Holmespcsholmes@telkomsa.net083 227 9003028 313 2458
SecretaryPeta McAdampeta.mcadam@gmail.com083 286 8788028 312 1721
TreasurerDavid Watsonflintfarm@telkomsa.net082 552 7353028 313 0740
Kleinmond Bird Club
Paul & Pauline Bramhallbramhall@worldonline.co.za028 271 5170
Lakes Bird Club
ChairPat Nursejgn@lantic.net082 402 6133044 382 0638
Secretary & TreasurerSteve Getliffestebar@barkly.co.za082 785 6152044 382 4474
Namaqua Bird Club
ChairSalome Willemsejapiewillemse@telkomsa.net072 471 4083027 219 1202
Paarl Monitoring Group
Yvonne Weisshiweiss@iafrica.com021 872 4972
Robertson Bird Club
Co-ordinatorMaurits Peroldmaurits@intekom.co.za
Somerset West Bird Club
ChairBryan Butlerbryan.butler39@gmail.com082 957 7448021 851 6707
SecretarySonja Peaceysonjapeacey@yahoo.com078 276 5707
TreasurerSakkie Krynauwisakkrynauw@telkomsa.net082 904 5363021 853 6814
ConservationCaroline Crumpcarmar.crump@gmail.com084 603 6785
The Southern Bird Club - L’Agulhas
Chair / SecretaryTrish Leggatleggats@mweb.co.za083 592 6257028 435 6865
Stanford Bird Club
ChairPeter Hochfeldenpeterh@obsadco.co.za082 443 7867028 341 0164
SecretaryLiz Hochfeldenlizhochfelden@gmail.com082 766 8319028 341 0164
TreasurerElsa Gebhardelsag@global.co.za072 274 4005028 341 0499
Tygerberg Bird Club
ChairBrigid Creweb.dekock@mweb.co.za082 570 0808021 975 1252
SecretaryMargaret Oosthuizenmargaret.o@telkomsa.net021 976 2217
TreasurerHelene Thompsonhelene.thompson@ewit.co.za021 976 4079
Hon. PresidentBrian Vanderwaltbrianv@mweb.co.za082 999 9333021 919 2192
West Coast Bird Club
ChairColin de Kockcoldek@icon.co.za083 250 5217
SecretaryGill Stewartangil@westcoastmail.co.za082 736 6673022 723 0386
ConservationKeith Harrisonkeithhbharrison@lando.co.za082 791 9251022 713 3026
Witzenberg Bird Club
Pietman Bassonpietmanbasson@telkomsa.net082 896 4042
Marthinus de Villiersmarthinus.de.villiers@cfq.co.za082 324 6751
Other:
BLSA Regional Conserv. Manager -
Western Cape
Dale Wrightdale.wright@birdlife.org.za072 562 3946
BLSA Renewable Energy ManagerSam Ralston-Patonenergy@birdlife.org.za083 673 3948
BLSA Albatross Task ForceAndrea Angelandrea.angel@birdlife.org.za078 389 5737021 419 7347
SANCCOBDr. Stephen Van der SpuyStephen@sanccob.co.za021 557 6155
CapeNatureKevin Shawshawka@capenature.co.za082 414 0070
ConsultantTony Williamscapeokapi@gmail.com084 505 5450021 556 1284

Forum Meeting Minutes

The draft minutes of the Forum meetings are available below for general information.

DateVenueDownload
2017 June
Intaka Island, Century City.Minutes.
2017 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
2016 OctoberKristo Pienaar Environmental Centre, Tygerberg Nature Reserve.Minutes.
2016 OctoberKristo Pienaar Environmental Centre, Tygerberg Nature Reserve.Representatives Reports.
No minutes available for 2016 JuneIntaka Island Environmental Centre, Century City.
2016 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve Environmental Centre, Somerset West.Minutes
2015 SeptemberLoeries Nest Lapa, Ebb & Flow, Wilderness.Minutes.
2015 JuneIntaka Island, Century City.Minutes
2015 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve,
Somerset West.
Minutes
2014 SeptemberKristo Pienaar Environmental Centre,
Tygerberg Nature Reserve.
Minutes.
2014 JuneIntaka Island, Century City.Minutes
2014 FebruaryGeelbek Manor House,
West Coast National Park.
Minutes
2013 OctoberMunicipal Board Room, Stanford.Minutes.
2013 JunePaarl Bird Sanctuary (Drakenstein Municipality Boardroom).Minutes.
2013 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
2012 OctoberHermanus.Minutes.
No minutes available for 2012 June
2012 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
No minutes available for 2011 October
2011 JuneDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2011 MarchDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2010 OctoberDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2010 JuneDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2010 MarchNewspaper notice.
2010 FebruaryDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2009 OctoberDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2009 June Durbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2009 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
No minutes available
for November 2008.
Durbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.
2008 JuneDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2008 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
2007 SeptemberStanford House, Stanford.Minutes.
2007 June WorkshopDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2007 JuneDurbanville Nature Reserve, Durbanville.Minutes.
2007 FebruaryHelderberg Nature Reserve, Somerset West.Minutes.
No minutes are available for 2006.
2005 OctoberMunicipal Boardroom, Stanford.Minutes.
2005 MayBlaauberg Environment Centre.Minutes.
2005 FebruaryTygerberg Nature Reserve.Minutes.
2004 OctoberMunicipal Offices, Stanford.Minutes.
2004 JuneKristo Pienaar Centre, Tygerberg Nature Reserve.Minutes.
No minutes prior to June 2004 are available.